The Seven Chakras

Here’s a little background on the Seven Chakras that I got from a notecard given out at Sunshine Therapy Garden. I thought it was some good information, and decided I should share with all you lovely folks! Perhaps I’ll do a series on the Chakras, as there is so much information about them out there. What do you think?

There’s also a good link for a blog written by a yoga instructor: A Brief Description of the Chakras.


First chakra. Located at the base of the spine (Red)
This is the chakra that governs our physical existence, our survival and our health. It’s inner state is stillness and stability. Balancing this chakra gives energy to the physical body, controls fear, increases overall health and helps us to feel confident in our abilities and well grounded.

Second chakra. Located in the reproductive organs (Orange)
This chakra is where we find the human talents of creativity, pleasure, sexuality and emotions. When this chakra is open and healthy we will have stable emotions, self-acceptance, sexual vitality, physical power and fertility.

Third chakra. Located at the solar plexus, just above the naval (Yellow)
This chakra affects our will power and desire, and is where we find our commitment, confidence, reliability and autonomy, without domination and manipulation. Balancing this chakra is associated with calming emotions and frustration, easing tension and helping to better utilize intuition. Excitement, fear or butterflies in the stomach are disturbances in the third chakra.

Fourth chakra. Located at the heart centre (Green)
This chakra is connected with emotion, spiritual love, compassion, service and devotion. When our heart is shut down we feel angry, hurt, self-pitying and unloved, and can actually feel it as a tight area in the chest. Balancing this chakra is important for the circulatory system, heart and thymus.

Fifth chakra. Located at the throat (Blue)
This chakra governs communication and personal magnetism. It is the link between emotion and thought and represents knowledge and speaking the truth of that knowledge. You may feel a lump in the throat when you speak without knowing all the facts, or avoid telling the truth.

Sixth chakra. Located at the centre of the forehead. ‘The third eye’ (Indigo)
This chakra is where we find our sense of intuition, enlightenment, self reflection and self-realization. Often this chakra opens up through a ‘spiritual’ emergence or awakening.

Seventh chakra. Located on top of the head (Violet)
This chakra is the spiritual centre of our physical body. It promotes thought and it’s function is understanding. Balancing this chakra is said to give vitality to the cerebrum and affects the development of psychic abilities. A supremely conscious human being exhibits compassion, self-awareness, mindfulness, and awareness of the world. Such a person has a very evolved seventh chakra.

4 thoughts on “The Seven Chakras

  1. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I’m experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting similar rss problem? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  2. joel says:

    Very nice presentation of the chakras. I have studied them, and find your analysis is very close to my understanding. Thanks for your service in creating this website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s