May Your Pen Grace The Page


This poem below is by a very talented, Australian slam poet, Luka Lesson. I highly suggest browsing around his site. I also suggest that when reading this poem, you read it aloud. Thanks to Anamaria Verlaine for introducing to me to this poet last night, at her poetry event at The Pixel Bean.

May Your Pen Grace The Page.

May your pen grace the page at the same pace as your brain

May your grey matter from now on no longer be grey

May you mean every word that you say

And may writing your rhymes be the way that you pray

 

Get up, Step up, never let up

Get your setup set up

Get recording, get stories pouring

Ignoring your calling and calling you ‘boring’ is boring

You need to be touring

What are you doing? You’re basically stewing

No space for day dreaming

No place for that feeling

No place for pacing the building or facing the ceiling

There’s no way that it is dealing

Your brain it is stealing

And there’ll be no change to you

And there’ll never be any change to that ceiling

 

I’m basically feeling that art isn’t hard

What’s hard is your heart

And it starts in the past, but the past’s in the past

So love who you are

Pass a rush of blood until your arteries blast

And let the blood rush to your arm and let your artistry start

 

May your pen express upon the page every feeling you’re in

May your white page – Yang

Love your black pen – Yin

May the ball in your ball point roll ‘cause that’s the point of the ball

And if we can’t make our points then what’s the point of it all?

May the lead in your lead-pencil lead you astray

We spell it L-E-A-D ‘cause we’ve made leaders this way

I know it’s hard but easy to say but I mean what I say when I say

“Mean what you say”

 

Potentially my pencil be the deftest thing you’ve ever seen

Adept at expressing everything that you’ve never seen

Especially when you question me

My pencil, man she gets to me

She comes to me and comforts me and takes me out to lunch you see

We have a cup of coffee, before I know it she’s on top of me

She rocking and she’s rolling me

We’re touching uncontrollably

She likes to switch the roles on me

I think I writing with her

But she it writing with me

Its my life as I desire to be

It’s only right that she’s my wife 2B

 

She takes me to her bed of white

We try it in the dead of night

Pages till we get it right

We make love between the sheets

 

May your pen grace the page at the same pace as your brain

May your grey matter from now on no longer be grey

May you mean every word that you say

And may writing our rhymes be the way that we pray

Leave a Reply

